People


Mathieu

Mathieu Quesnel-Vallières, Ph.D.

he/him; last name pronunciation: “ken-el val-e-air”

Assistant Professor

Department of Immunology and Cell Biology, Université de Sherbrooke

The list of biology fields that my research has involved at one point or another is too long to post here. Let’s say I know very little about a lot of things.

On the daily: If you wonder whether I’m being serious, I’m not. Music always and everywhere. I sneeze often and loud - my apologies to those who spend time in my general vicinity.

About my job: Conferences are the best part of what we do as academic researchers. You travel to meet new colleagues, start collaborations, get updated on the state of the art, promote your work. It’s the best.

Training:

  • Postdoc, University of Pennsylvania (2023)
  • Ph.D., University of Toronto (2017)
  • M.Sc., Université de Montréal (2010)
  • B.Sc., Université de Montréal (2007)

CV: MQV_CV

Emma

Emma Delannoy

M.Sc. student in Cell Biology

During my academic journey, I have been able to explore numerous fields, but I have primarily worked on projects related to the regulation of the immune system in the context of cancer.

On the daily: I am quite talkative, always chatting or humming a little tune. As for hobbies, I am a fan of traditional elderly activities, especially embroidery and crochet.

About my job: What I appreciate the most is the opportunity to evolve in a multicultural environment and to interact with people with different backgrounds and perspectives, making this environment even more enriching and inspiring.

PS : hide your pens, I heard someone has a little hoarding problem…

Nassima

Nassima Bouzidi

M.Sc. student in Cell Biology

I previously had the opportunity to explore a multitude of projects, primarily focused on gene therapy and neurobiology. I arrive in Sherbrooke with the determination to concretize my professional aspirations by fully investing myself in a project that is dear to my heart.

On the daily: I can’t help but dance, albeit poorly, every time I listen to music, and I listen to a lot of it… I’m learning to understand the local language. You can often find me with my notebook where I collect the Quebec expressions I hear for the first time.

About my job: I love, and have always loved, working in research, a world where we have the pleasure to interact daily with passionate collaborators from all corners of the world, from whom we learn a lot about science and the world.

Virginie Cyr

Virginie Cyr

she/her

B.Sc. student in pharmacology

On the daily: I am always ready for an activity, whether it’s going for a work out, swimming, or especially going out to eat.

During my internship: As part of my first research internship, I am working on the analysis of alternative splicing in genes crucial to hematopoiesis. What I love about research is primarily the collaboration and spirit of mutual support. You can easily recognize me in the lab… I always have a jacket with me. It’s too cold in the office!

Mathieu Desnoyers-Barbeau

Mathieu Desnoyers-Barbeau

il/lui

B.Sc. student in biotech engineering

For me, research represents the ultimate adventure for a learner; being constantly exposed to the unknown and the new while asking questions. It’s a perfect environment for curious individuals like me. In research, my interests are numerous, but here are the main ones: plant biology, biotechnologies (especially biomanufacturing), and programming. My goal is to pursue a Master’s and a PhD within my own business (entrepreneurial student project).

On the daily: I discovered last year that I have a thirst for exploring the world. Every time the opportunity arises, I jump on a plane. Otherwise, I take care of my plants and constantly shop for cars. I’m also the lab member with useless gadgets, like a cup that I control with my iPhone; though it’s true that I do programming there, so I need to have some tech stuff on my desk.

During my internship: I am working on a project that is entirely carried out through programming. Therefore, I am learning about the field of bioinformatics and enhancing my knowledge in biology, programming, and genetic data processing. What I love about research in a university lab is the lab life. Meeting other motivated and curious students like myself is stimulating and truly enjoyable. Collaborative work is genuinely motivating.

Équipe


Mathieu

Mathieu Quesnel-Vallières, Ph.D.

il/lui

Professeur adjoint

Département d’immunologie et biologie cellulaire, Université de Sherbrooke

La liste des domaines de la biologie que j’ai abordés à un moment ou un autre de mes recherches est trop longue pour être donnée ici. Disons que je sais très peu de choses à propos de nombreux sujets.

Au quotidien: J’ai l’air sérieux alors que je le suis très rarement. J’écoute de la musique partout et toujours. J’éternue fort et souvent - je vous offre mes excuses.

À propos de mon travail: Les congrès sont ce qu’il y a de mieux à propos de la recherche en milieu académique. On a la chance de voyager pour recontrer de nouveaux collègues, lancer des collaborations, en apprendre sur les plus récents développements dans notre domaine, promouvoir nos travaux. Y’a pas mieux.

Formation:

  • Postdoc, University of Pennsylvania (2023)
  • Ph.D., University of Toronto (2017)
  • M.Sc., Université de Montréal (2010)
  • B.Sc., Université de Montréal (2007)

CV: MQV_CV

Emma

Emma Delannoy

Étudiante à la maîtrise en biologie cellulaire

Durant mon parcours académique, j’ai pu découvrir de nombreux domaines, mais j’ai majoritairement collaboré sur des projets en relation avec la régulation du système immunitaire dans le contexte du cancer.

Au quotidien: Je suis plutôt bavarde, toujours en train de discuter ou de fredonner une petite chanson. Niveau loisirs, je suis une adepte des activités manuelles typiques du troisième âge, notamment la broderie et le crochet.

À propos de mon travail: Ce que j’apprécie le plus c’est la possibilité d’évoluer dans un environnement multiculturel et de côtoyer des personnes avec des parcours et des perspectives différentes rendant cet environnement d’autant plus enrichissant et inspirant.

PS : cachez vos stylos, j’ai entendu dire que quelqu’un avait un petit problème…

Nassima

Nassima Bouzidi

Étudiante à la maîtrise en biologie cellulaire

Auparavant, j’ai eu la chance d’explorer une multitude de projets, principalement axés sur la thérapie génique et la neurobiologie. Je débarque à Sherbrooke avec la détermination de concrétiser mes aspirations professionnelles en m’investissant pleinement dans un projet qui me tient à coeur.

Au quotidien: Je ne peux m’empêcher de danser, mal, à chaque fois que j’écoute une musique, et j’en écoute beaucoup… J’apprends à comprendre la langue locale. D’ailleurs, vous pourrez facilement me repérer avec mon carnet où je recueille les expressions québécoises que je découvre.

À propos de mon travail: J’aime, et j’ai toujours aimé travailler dans la recherche, un monde où nous avons le plaisir de côtoyer quotidiennement des collaborateurs passionnés venant des quatre coins du monde, de qui nous apprenons beaucoup sur la science et le monde.

Virginie Cyr

Virginie Cyr

elle/elle

Étudiante au premier cycle en pharmacologie

Au quotidien: Je suis toujours prête pour une activité, que ce soit aller s’entraîner, aller nager et particulièrement aller manger.

Durant mon stage: Dans le cadre de mon premier stage en recherche, je travaille sur l’analyse de l’épissage alternatif dans des gènes importants dans l’hématopoïèse. Ce que j’aime de la recherche, c’est surtout la collaboration et l’esprit d’entraide. Facile de me reconnaître au labo… j’ai toujours une petite laine. Il fait trop froid dans le bureau!

Mathieu Desnoyers-Barbeau

Mathieu Desnoyers-Barbeau

il/lui

Étudiant de premier cycle en génie biotechnologique

Pour moi la recherche représente l’aventure ultime d’un apprenant ; être constamment exposé à l’inconnu et au nouveau tout en se posant des questions. C’est un milieu parfait pour les personnes curieuses comme moi. En recherche mes intérêts sont nombreux, mais voici les principaux : la biologie végétale, les biotechnologies (bio fabrication notamment) ainsi que la programmation. Mon objectif serait de réaliser ma maitrise ainsi que mon PhD au sein de ma propre entreprise (projet étudiant entrepreneurial).

Au quotidien: Depuis l’an passé, j’ai découvert que j’avais une soif de découvrir le monde. Ainsi, chaque fois que l’occasion se présente, je saute dans un avion. Sinon je m’occupe de mes plantes et magasine les voitures tout le temps. C’est aussi moi le membre du labo avec des gadgets inutiles comme une tasse que je contrôle avec mon iPhone ; en même temps j’y fais de la programmation alors il faut bien que j’aille quelques trucs technos sur mon bureau.

Durant mon stage: Je travaille sur un projet qui est entièrement réalisé via la programmation. J’en apprends donc sur le domaine de la bio-informatique et j’améliore mes connaissances en biologie, en programmation et en traitement de données génétiques. Sinon, ce que j’aime de la recherche en laboratoire universitaire, c’est la vie de labo. En effet, rencontrer d’autres étudiants motivés et curieux comme moi est stimulant et vraiment agréable. Le travail collaboratif est vraiment motivant.