MQVlab_logo

Interrogating the RNA to find new cancer treatments

Our lab uses high-throughput sequencing data and experimental validations to find RNA variations involved in normal tissue development or in cancer.

transcriptomics Using variations in RNA splicing patterns, it is possible to discover molecular signals missed with other approaches. Over the years, transcriptomic analyses have provided key insight on questions encompassing the fields of autism spectrum disorders and cancer. For example, we have:  

Vision

The lab officially launched in September 2023. Our research is driven by a combination of computional analyses to generate hypotheses and experimental work to describe biological functions. We believe that studying RNA splicing will uncover new therapeutic avenues for cancer. We also believe that the role of RNA-binding proteins is heavily underestimated in immune cell development and function.

News

01/2024 Emma and Nassima join the lab for their grad studies
01/2024 Virginie and Mathieu join the lab for a 4-month COOP internship
11/2023 MAJIQlopedia is published in Nucleic Acids Research
11/2023 We are awarded the Early career researchers award in genomics – human health by Génome Québec
09/2023 MQV lab officially opens at Université de Sherbrooke

Funding

The lab is supported by a Next Generation of Scientists Award from the Cancer Research Society, an Early career researchers competition in genomics – human health Award from Génome Québec as well as startup funds from the Université de Sherbrooke and CRCHUS. funding

MQVlab_logo

Nous examinons les variations de l’ARN pour trouver de nouveaux traitments contre le cancer

Notre labo utilise des données de séquençage à haut débit et des validations expérimentales pour trouver des variations de l’ARN impliquées dans le développement de tissus normaux et des cancers.

transcriptomics En étudiant les variations d’épissage de l’ARN, il est possible de découvrir des signatures moléculaires ignorées par d’autres approches. Au cours des dernières années, l’analyse du transcriptome a permis d’apporter une lumière nouvelle sur des questions fondamentales dans les domaines des troubles du spectre de l’autisme et du cancer. Par exemple, nous avous trouvé que:  

Vision

Le laboratoire a officiellement ouvert ses portes en septembre 2023. Notre recherche repose sur une combinaison d’analyses bioinformatiques pour générer des hypothèses et des expériences en laboratoire pour décrire les fonctions biologiques. Nous croyons que l’étude de l’épissage ARN ouvrira de nouvelles voies thérapeutiques pour le traitement du cancer. Nous croyons aussi que le rôle de l’épissage alternatif dans le développement et les fonctions du système immunitaire est largement sous-estimé et que la caractérisation de ces processus permettra de mieux décrire et prendre en charge les cancers du sang.

Nous recherchons activement des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs et stagiaires postdoctoraux pour mener des projets qui feront progresser les traitements contre le cancer et notre compréhension du système immunitaire.

Financement

Le laboratoire est financé par une Bourse pour la relève scientifique de la Société de recherche sur le cancer ainsi que des fonds de démarrage de l’Université de Sherbrooke et du CRCHUS. funding